PDA

View Full Version : Question

Kids Galore
09-20-2008, 12:32 PM
So, my wife and I went to Las Vegas this past week and had a great time.....On Tuesday my wife got a call that a close friend had killed him self on Monday night. He had a history of alcohol problems and was depressed. It was quite a shock and he left behind his wife 2 1/2 year old daughter and 5 month old son. Now, I was really sad that he was gone and left behind his family, I was angry that he could do that to his kids....I do not respect him at all and feel so sad for his kids.

Now, some of you know that I was a SAHD for 3 years and went back to work a few years ago and I am now a officer of the law.....I have been questioning if it is worth it....Putting my life on the line everyday and if something happens then I would be leaving my kids without a dad.....Since this has happened I have been thinking of open my own daycare. In doing so, I would be able to help out those kids that were left behind and I think it wouold be fun.....I just don't know if that is a good idea....I love my job now and love what I am doing, but a friend of mine was hit and broke his neck in two places, a broken rib and was out of work the whole summer....So, is it really worth it?? My wife says go for it....But I am not sure....Any feedback???

jeffb
09-20-2008, 12:54 PM
Sorry to hear about this. It is very sad.

If you are passionate about it opening a daycare, go for it!!

North Country Dad
09-20-2008, 01:17 PM
A good friend of mine is a daycare director. It's a lot of work, but she loves it. I read about a woman who opened up a 24/7 daycare to appeal to parents who work at night. Depending on where you are, you could offer some sort of niche such as that. Are you thinking of doing this out of your home or at another site? There's a lot to look into, but it's certainly worth it to at least check it out.