Stay at Home Daddad stays home Stay at home Dad Books Available at Amazon

Fishing Gear

Go Back   Stay at Home Dads Forum > Daddy Stuff > Advice from Dads for Dads
Register FAQ VB Image Host More Stuff Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-04-2010, 08:34 PM
elavnave

Default Some Unrelated Questions

Hello, I have an eight-month old boy that I have been staying home with for five months. So far, so good. I have the childcare part under control for now. These questions are on the opposite ends of the spectrum, so one person probably can not answer all of them.

1. My child is uncircumcised. My wife left the decision up to me, and that's what I chose. Since birth, our baby's doctor has been telling us to try to pull the foreskin back every night when we bathe him. It has been over eight months, and it does not pull back at all. Most websites I find on the net say there is no point in trying this in a baby, because the foreskin will not separate when you have a young baby. The doctor has managed to do nothing but scare me. Any advice?

2. I am a multi-instrumentalist. I play about ten instruments, though none of them do I play particularly well. My kiddo has taken to my ukulele, and has actually made tiny bits of progress. He used to just grab handfulls of strings with his fist and pull as hard as he could. He is now to the point where he gently plucks the individual strings with his thumb and forefinger. Keep in mind he doesn't hold it correctly when he does this, he's only eight months old! He just crawls up to it and plucks the strings with a huge grin. At what age can a child actually begin to learn a stringed instrument? I have gotten great enjoyment out of it for most of my life, and I would like to pass that on.