Stay at Home Daddad stays home Stay at home Dad Books Available at Amazon

Go Back   Stay at Home Dads Forum > Other Stuff > Recipes
Register FAQ VB Image Host More Stuff Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-25-2011, 09:27 PM
Canadad

Send a message via MSN to Neodaddy Send a message via Skype™ to Neodaddy
Default Got a Smoker!!

Okay boys, bought myself a small smoker, offset style. Suggestions needed (and perhaps recipes) for my first foray into smoking. Cut of meat? Charcoal? Rub? Brine? All thoughts welcome. Complete novice.

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe."
Albert Einstein
Old 06-25-2011, 10:01 PM
"Not Willsdad"

Get you some lump charcoal. Royal oak or whatever you have around you. Buy a pork shoulder (called a butt). You can use whatever rub you like. Any will do the job. You can slather mustard on it if you wish and then rub it down. Add some hickory or apple or whatever wood floats your boat. Smoke until the meat reaches around 195-200 F internal. Keep the temp of the smoker at around 250. Should take 1.5 hours/lb I think the standard is. I'll run mine for 14 hours or so on a butt.

Enjoy. Ribs are also easy. Plenty of forums for offsets out there. I like to do my ribs at 250 for about 3 hours, then foil for an hour or hour and a half depending on how fall off the bone you want them. I put apple juice, honey and brown sugar in the packets. Then sauce and back on to finish. Easy and tasty. Also use hickory or apple or whatcha like.

Cubfan has a smoker like that and can surely help on making your unit much better than stock and more efficient. Efficiency is not what those are known for.

(someguy) "I'd absolutely recommend teabags."(someguy)

I AM a Southern-fried Maple Leaf.
Old 06-25-2011, 10:06 PM
Canadad

Send a message via MSN to Neodaddy Send a message via Skype™ to Neodaddy