Stay at Home Daddad stays home Stay at home Dad Books Available at Amazon

Paracord Bracelets. Made in the USA!

Go Back   Dad Stays Home - Place for Stay at Home Dads to Share Daddyhood Experiences > Daddy Stuff > DIY Dads
Register FAQ VB Image Host More Stuff Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2008, 04:40 AM
North Country Dad's Avatar
North Country Dad North Country Dad is offline
Just glad to be here
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home
Posts: 4,833
Question Another electrical question

Our furnace just quit on us. We've tried to reset it, but nothing. It seems as if there isn't power to it. The breaker is not tripped. How do I test the power switch next to the furnace to see if there is even power coming into it? I have one of those multimeter testers -- do I test a switch the same way I would test an outlet?

We'll be calling the HVAC guy, but we figure he won't visit us on NYE! :roll: Could be a cold night -- worried about the pipes freezing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2008, 04:52 AM
sao95's Avatar
sao95 sao95 is offline
Always Irritated
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,098
Default

test the switch just like an outlet, you'll have a hot and a neutral. Also look on the service door to your unit, alot of them will have codes now a days and you can read the code off it and it'll help you figure out what's wrong. Give us a make/model and maybe we can help. Also if by the switch you mean the light type switch that goes to the furnace I'd bet that's not your problem. Is your air filter clean, some models will kill themselves if they have restricted airflow.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2008, 05:18 AM
North Country Dad's Avatar
North Country Dad North Country Dad is offline
Just glad to be here
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home
Posts: 4,833
Default

We cleaned the fan and changed the filter today b/c it wasn't working earlier. It worked then, for several hours, then it stopped working again. I just changed the switch that goes to the furnace -- that wasn't the problem.

I don't see a make or model anywhere on the unit. The wife is calling the experts right now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2008, 05:30 AM
sao95's Avatar
sao95 sao95 is offline
Always Irritated
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,098
Default

is ti forced air? gas? electric?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2008, 06:38 AM
North Country Dad's Avatar
North Country Dad North Country Dad is offline
Just glad to be here
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home
Posts: 4,833
Default

The repairman figured it out: a bad switch -- the one inside the unit. All better now. It's a Ruud 90, forced air gas. He says we might want to think about buying a replacement integrated fan circuit board just to have an extra on hand since it would take 7-10 days to get another one in. Hmm...

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2008, 02:58 PM
sao95's Avatar
sao95 sao95 is offline
Always Irritated
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,098
Default

was it the upper limit switch?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:48 PM
MoparDaddy's Avatar
MoparDaddy MoparDaddy is offline
Hooked on Quack
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 769
Default

Bad switch or Relay on the board ?? does the board have some type of fuse or circuit breaker protection ??
__________________
Some days you're the bug; some days you're the windshield.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2008, 03:26 PM
Hockeyfan's Avatar
Hockeyfan Hockeyfan is offline
"Not Willsdad"
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 20,648
Default

Glad it was minor. That can get pricey replacing one of them babies. Besides it's too cold this time of year up there to be without heat.
__________________
Big Dog (8), Little Dog (6) and baby Princess (4). 3 is enough!

(someguy) "I'd absolutely recommend teabags."(someguy)

I AM a Southern-fried Maple Leaf.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2008, 04:02 PM
North Country Dad's Avatar
North Country Dad North Country Dad is offline
Just glad to be here
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home
Posts: 4,833
Default

Yeah, we're glad, too. We were worried it was going to be major. Whew!

It was just the safety switch --the one that depresses when you put the panel door back in place.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.